Saturday, January 12, 2008

More on Latest WCHA Ref Fiasco

There's a higher-quality picture of the final tenths of a second in the Wisconsin/Denver last night. I guess you don't actually see the puck in the net, but I have a tough time believing that every Wisconsin player, two refs, and a goal judge all acknowledged the puck was in the net before it was.

There's also the issue that the red light shouldn't be able to be turned on once the green light goes on. So really, the only possible way Randy Schmidt isn't at fault here is if there was some sort of colossal failure on the part of the people running DU's rink, but from the looks of it, I doubt that is the case.

15 comments:

Anonymous said...

The WCHA should really take a good look at Schmidt, to really think if he is qualifed refere in the WCHA anymore.

Anonymous said...

before hammering the ref, we would have to see the same replay as him. until then, we are just guessing.

Anonymous said...

Funny, both calls helped Denver, hmmmmm odd, really odd.

Kate Crandall said...

WCHA Acknowledges Error Made in DU vs UW game Friday

MADISON, Wisc. – The Western Collegiate Hockey Association has acknowledged that an error occurred on a goal that was disallowed in Friday (Jan. 11) night’s conference game between host University of Denver and visiting University of Wisconsin.

The Wisconsin goal in question occurred as time expired, but according to the video replay system available to the referee, the puck was still in the crease when the clock in the available replay showed 0:00. But the game tape showed that the puck was in the net and back out of the net prior to 0:00.

The league regrets the error, and acknowledges that the goal should have counted.

Anonymous said...

If indeed they acknowledge the error and say it should have counted, then they should have the teams play a five minute overtime before the next time they meet. After all, the NBA is making a couple teams replay the last 50 seconds of a game due to an error, so why can't hockey?

Tad said...

funny....WCHA just sent an official release saying the goal should have counted. Too bad there is not recourse for a realing Badger hockey team that has been on the unfortunate side of a lot of bad luck recently.

Twister 26 said...

If indeed it was an error on the goal call, Schmidt needs to take his act to the Arctic Circle. Maybe he can find some good pickup games to officiate there.

It stinks to see this kind of blown call. This kind of stuff shouldn't happane.

James said...

This is absurd. They concede the error before the teams take the ice for tonight's game, and yet won't play the OT? Why the hell not? The teams are there and suited up to play hockey. Play 5, then start tonight's game. It couldn't be easier to remedy this error.

Anonymous said...

Isn't the error also associated with replay technology not being current at Denver? If that is the case, the WCHA has to feel extremely stupid!

Anonymous said...

Apparently the ref Scmidt asked to see where the puck was when the clock was at 0:00. It had already gone in and come out of the net so what he looked at was the puck outside the goal line after the goal was scored. What a fuckin idiot. He seriously looked at the review for 40 seconds before he made the call. At least take your time in such a crucial situation.

Anonymous said...

Yep, from http://www.madison.com/wsj/blogs/badger/baggot/267013):

Schmidt apparently stepped to the scorer's table, asked for the single overhead camera frame at which the clock showed 0:00. That showed the puck was in the crease.

Turns out that was the first of several mistakes made by Schmidt, who was indeed on hand to work the series finale at Magness Arena.

Had Schmidt asked to see the entire sequence -- which lasted 3.7 seconds -- he would have seen that the puck crossed the goal line behind Denver goaltender Peter Mannino with 0.9 seconds left.

The single frame Schmidt saw was after the puck had come out of the net.

A witness said Schmidt made only a cursory attempt to look at the replay. Schmidt also declined to check with the goal judge.

That last reality is critical because the TV replay shows the red goal light illuminated. That light is linked to the clock so that if time has run out, the light will not go on.

Schmidt should be canned

Anonymous said...

It will be really interesting if this loss potentially costs a borderline tourney team like Wisconsin a spot in the big dance.

Anonymous said...

8:08...and to add onto what you are saying, what if DU wins the conference by 2 points, or beats a 3rd place team by a point. If you want to email McCleod and complain, his e-mail address is a Denver University email address...hmmmmmmmmm

Anonymous said...

Anon 6:20

I'm a huge Badger fan. If we miss the playoffs our hockey team has no one but themselves to blame. Yeah, we're all ticked about the call, but the fact is the Badgers have played subpar hockey all season. Eaves needs to take a look in the mirror and figure out how to get this team on track. Maybe I'm in the minority, but in my opinion it'll be a cop out to blame the bad call if we miss the tourney.

Anonymous said...

3:38

Point well taken. Another Badger fan here that thinks this appeal is bogus and a waste of time. UW needs to win games. Period. End of story. This appeal for one league point is nothing more than a distraction. Other Badger fans care to chime in?